Skip to content

AEP Announces National Merit Scholar Award Winners

by on May 22, 2018

Ben Hawkins was one of four students to receive a National Merit AEP Scholarship for 2018.

(Story by Barry Schumann)

AEP has partnered with the National Merit Scholarship Corp. to provide four Merit Scholar® awards this year to children of AEP employees. Recipients of the National Merit AEP Scholarships for 2018 are:

  • Ben Hawkins, son of Renee and Peter Hawkins. Renee is Managing Director, Corporate Finance, in Columbus, Ohio. Ben is a graduate of Wellington School in Columbus and will be studying electrical engineering at Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology.
  • Isaac Hopwood, son of Todd and Theresa Hopwood. Todd is a SWEPCO Manager of Distribution System in Fayetteville, Arkansas. Isaac is a graduate of Haas Hall Academy in Fayetteville and will be studying chemistry at the University of Arkansas, Fayetteville.
  • Rohith Paidikondala, son of Murali Paidikondala and Lakshmi Kosuri. Murali is an IT Senior Project Manager in Gahanna, Ohio. Rohith is a graduate of New Albany (Ohio) High School and will be studying chemical engineering at The Ohio State University.
  • Danielle Veigel, daughter of Stephen and Gina Veigel. Stephen is an AEP Ohio Line Crew Supervisor in Canton, Ohio. Danielle is a graduate of Jackson High School in Massillon and will be studying chemical engineering at the University of Cincinnati.


Each scholarship winner will receive a $1,000 college undergraduate stipend payable annually for up to four years. Up to five graduating high school students are awarded scholarships each year.

To be eligible for the scholarships, a high school senior must attain Finalist standing in the National Merit Scholarship Program and be a child of an employee of AEP or one of its subsidiaries. To enter the National Merit Scholarship Program, high school juniors (11th grade/third year students) must take the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT). Some 16,000 students annually are designated National Merit Program Semifinalists, representing the highest scores in every state.

Winners of 2019 National Merit AEP Scholarships will be selected by the National Merit Scholarship Corp. beginning in the spring of 2019 and announced publicly in April of that year. Awardees are chosen by the National Merit Scholarship Corp. based on its criteria. See additional information about the National Merit AEP Scholarship Program or the National Merit Scholarship Program.

The National Merit AEP scholarship program is separate from the AEP Educational Trust Scholarship Program that annually provides scholarships to 44 children of AEP employees on a competitive basis.

From → News From AEP

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: