Skip to content

AEP Board elects Nick Akins president and Carl English vice chairman of American Electric Power

by on December 20, 2010

American Electric Power’s Board of Directors has elected Nick Akins as president and Carl English as vice chairman of American Electric Power, effective January 1, 2011. A new executive vice president – Generation will be named in the near future. This action also changes executive level reporting relationships.

Nick Akins

Akins has been executive vice president – Generation since September 1, 2006. He previously served as president and chief operating officer of Southwest Electric Power Co., and vice president – energy marketing services, and vice president – industry restructuring for AEP.

Reporting to Akins will be Bob Powers, president – AEP Utilities; Susan Tomasky, president – AEP Transmission; the executive vice president – Generation (yet to be named); Todd Busby, senior vice president – Commercial Operations; and Scott Smith, executive liaison for OVEC/IKEC.

English joined the company in 2004 as president – AEP Utilities and became chief operating officer in January 2008.

“This company has been well served by Carl’s extensive operational experience, his strong leadership qualities and his deep knowledge of the utility industry,” Morris said. “In his new position, Carl will continue to serve as a senior advisor to me while guiding the work of the Shared Services organization.”

“This action by the AEP Board validates the executive succession planning process I began shortly after arriving at AEP in 2004,” said Mike Morris, chairman, president and chief executive officer. “I am pleased that the Board recognized the considerable talent that resides in our executive ranks and selected Nick for this important leadership position. Nick has excelled in his varied roles and is well prepared to take on these new responsibilities. The Board of Directors has every confidence that Nick can help lead AEP to higher levels of success.”

Akins will report to Morris, who will become chairman of the board and chief executive officer. Also reporting to Morris will be English; Brian Tierney, executive vice president and chief financial officer; Mike Miller, senior vice president, general counsel and secretary; Tony Kavanagh, senior vice president – Federal Affairs; Sandy Williams, vice president and chief compliance officer, Richard Mueller, vice president – Audit Services, and Dale Heydlauff, vice president – Corporate Communications.

Carl English

Reporting to English will be Barbara Radous, senior vice president – Shared Services.

Other organizational changes include Dennis Welch, executive vice president – Environment, Safety & Health and Facilities, and Rich Munczinski, senior vice president – Regulatory Services, reporting to Powers. They will be joined by Powers’ current direct reports: Venita McCellon-Allen, president and chief operating officer of Southwestern Electric Power Company; Paul Chodak, president and chief operating officer of Indiana Michigan Power Company; Joe Hamrock, president and chief operating officer of AEP Ohio; Charles Patton, president and chief operating officer of Appalachian Power Company; Stuart Solomon, president and chief operating officer of Public Service Company of Oklahoma; Craig Rhoades, vice president – Customer Services, Marketing & Distribution Services, and Mike Lamantia, director – Planning & Budgeting.

View a new AEP high-level organizational chart.

From → Announcements

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: