Skip to content

Retiree Gil McKee among winners in AEP 100 years of dividends contest

by on May 13, 2010

AEP retiree Gil McKee

Andy Kivela of Indiana Michigan Power will join a group of AEP executives who will ring the closing bell at the New York Stock Exchange (NYSE) on June 3 to celebrate the milestone of 100 years of consecutive quarterly dividend payments by AEP.

Kivela, senior radiation protection technician at D.C. Cook Nuclear Plant, was selected May 13 by Mike Morris, chairman, president and chief executive officer, accompanied by Chuck Zebula, senior vice president and treasurer, and Dale Heydlauff, vice president – Corporate Communications.

In addition,  AEP retiree Gil McKee of Fort Wayne was one of 10 overall winners and will receive 10 shares of AEP stock. McKee retired July 31, 1999, with 32 years of service as an accountant and auditor for Indiana Michigan Power Company.

At the April 27 Board meeting, AEP’s Board of Directors declared a dividend to shareholders, payable June 10. This marked a milestone reached by very few companies in corporate America — AEP’s 400th consecutive quarterly dividend, issued over a span of 100 years.

“To start in 1910 with 35 shareholders, and to have that continuous string of dividends since then, says a lot about the leadership of AEP during that time,” Morris said.

AEP’s Investor Relations group sponsored the contest — open to all employees and retirees — with a trip to participate in the bell-ringing ceremony at the NYSE as the grand prize. In addition, there were 10 winners selected who will each receive 10 shares of AEP stock.

Read the contest questions and answers here.

The stock winners are:

  • Cayti Burch, engineering technologist at Tulsa Power Station, representing Public Service Company of Oklahoma;
  • Bruce Ellis, coordinator at United Sciences Testing, Inc. (USTI) in Warrensdale, Pa., winner in the “other areas” category;
  • Chip Ford, distribution line coordinator, San Angelo, Texas, representing AEP Texas;
  • Andy Kivela, senior radiation protection technician at D.C. Cook Nuclear Plant, representing Indiana Michigan Power;
  • Jack Maberry, customer solutions associate, Shreveport, representing Southwestern Electric Power Company;
  • Gil McKee of Fort Wayne, an AEP retiree. McKee retired July 31, 1999, with 32 years of service as an accountant and auditor for I&M.
  • Annette Pinkerton, audit consultant, Environment, Safety & Health Auditing, Dallas, representing AEP Service Corporation;
  • Nelson Scott, distribution right of way agent, Pikeville, Ky., representing Kentucky Power;
  • Susan Shuck, administrative supervisor at Conesville Plant, representing AEP Ohio, and
  • Jeannie Wray, administrator at St. Albans Simulator Learning Center in St. Albans, W.Va., representing Appalachian Power.

From → Events

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: